SHINee’s 2nd Mini-Album ‘Romeo’ Review

So I decided to write a mini-review (and fangirl rant) on their mini-album (haha! pun! …not really lols) which is just full of great songs that feature all of their impressive vocals and quick rap. It also reveals how much Taemin has improved, and how much Onew, Bling, and Key’s vocals have gotten even better, and how quicker and improved Key and Minho’s rap has gotten. Taemin actually participated more in the vocals than in the rap this time around. It has a nice mixture of upbeat, medium tempo, and ballad songs. This album is more mainstream KPOP, but also has a very unique taste to it, and is a break from their former cute, less mature, Nuna concept of their first album. So here goes, and hope you enjoy. :]

1. 니가 맘에 들어 (Talk To You)

Talk To You is a song about the first meeting between a boy and a girl.
This is a very nice, upbeat song that showcases how mature they have gotten. I mean, if you compare this song to, say, Real, this song is a total win. Not that I have anything against Real, but this is just so much more mature, you know? It has a simple but catchy beat. It has very trendy lyrics with a rhythmic rap that complements it nicely. And how sexy is Key’s intro in the beginning? I love the little bits of English. It also helps that they barely have accents.

2. Juliette

Juliette is when the boy confesses his love for the girl.
Yes, yes I know it’s a remake of (ew, HSM >>) Corbin Bleu’s Deal With It. And lots of people are saying that it sounds like LLO (which I don’t see at all, but must I remind everyone that LLO topped charts?), but to each their own. But believe me, it’s veryy catchy, and is so much more better than Corbin Bleu’s (no bias, I swear). A better concept, a better dance, a better music video. And yeah, up to the end of the first rendition of the chorus, it sounds almost exactly like Corbin Bleu’s version. However, starting from Minho’s rap, it’s totally different. It has a fast tempo, and the arrangement and the music just perfectly complements their voices. It showcases Taemin’s husky, improved voice, Jonghyun’s impressive vocals, Key’s powerful voice, Onew’s smooth and clear vocals, and Minho’s deep, sexy rap.

3. 차라리 때려 (Hit Me Baby)

The boy and girl gets into a fight.
This is a medium tempo song. It’s very melancholy and full of regret. Their vocals are softer and sadder. The lyrics are regretful and reveal the dilemma between post-fighting couples: the fight between pride and love. At the end, the ‘talk to me’s are full of willingness to wait. Key’s slightly angry voice underscores the soft voices of Onew and Bling to demonstrate the conflict.

4. 세뇨리따 (Señorita)

The boy realizes his loneliness without the girl.
This song just oozes sexiness. How sexy is the beginning, with Key’s little Spanish intro, the beatboxy sound effects, and Bling’s husky voice? And Onew’s strong voice and lovely high notes that sets off the slightly wispy bridge which contrasts with and leads into a powerful chorus. Minho’s husky, soft-ish rap is just love. It also has a kind of electronic touch to the music. And even more sexier than the intro is SHINee’s husky acapella to finish the song off.

5. 잠꼬대 (Please, Don’t Go)

The boy begs the girl not to leave him.
Must I state the obvious? This song is just absolutely beautiful. The moving music, the sentimental lyrics, Onew’s and Bling’s wonderful voices. It starts off with soft piano music and rhythmic snaps and Onew’s soft, soft voice and leads into Bling’s husky soft voice, both of which are to die for. And the harmony in the chorus? It just gives me chills, it’s so perfect and…beautiful. Near the middle-ish end, the piano music escalates, and some string instruments and drums are added, and their voices become powerful and overwhelming for the climax. The song ends (too soon!) with a lovely harmonization of Onew’s lower, clearer tone and Bling’s high, sweet voice. This is my absolute favorite song in the whole album.

6. 소년, 소녀를 만나다 (Romeo+Juliette)

The boy and girl seperate.
This is a medium tempo song much like Hit Me Baby that gives off a regretful and slightly angry vibe. It has an interesting touch of computerized voices. There are absolutely beautiful examples of each member’s special talents such as Onew and Bling’s harmonization and vocal range; Minho’s deep rap; Taemin’s husky and neutral voice; and Key’s powerful voice that characterizes most of the angry vibe.

Overall, I have to say I’m pretty satisfied with this album. All the songs have their own merits, and I love all of them. Just makes me anticipate already what they’re gonna come out with in the future. <3

I actually wrote this a few weeks ago, but I was just waiting for a slow news day to post it. =]

Video Credits to: YoDubu1, randy19972

45 Responses

  1. i totally agree with everything that you said!

    and please don’t go is my favorite song in the entire album as well.. :)

    well actually i loved all the songs, but this song has really an effect on me..haha!

    i love dubu’s voice!!

    i wish key had a song in the album.. :(

  2. I appreciate your wp format, where did you get a hold of it?

  3. Even though I truly like this publish, I believe there was an spelling error close towards the finish of the 3rd paragraph.

  4. I believe one of your ads caused my internet browser to resize, you might well want to set up that on your blacklist.

  5. Oh man. This site is amazing. How can I make it look like this !

  6. Hi, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically read, but I enjoyed your views none the less. Thank you for making something well worth reading.

  7. Do you might have a spam concern on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; we now have developed some great strategies and were searching to trade solutions with other folks, be positive to blast me an e-mail if serious.

  8. This site has a lot of extremely useful information on it. Thank you for sharing it with me.

  9. A lot of of the remarks on this particular website dont make sense.

  10. This website has lots of really helpful information on it. Thanks for sharing it with me!

  11. I Am Going To have to return again when my course load lets up – however I am getting your Rss feed so i can read your site offline. Thanks.

  12. If you could email me with a few hints on how you made this blog site look like this, Id be appreciative.

  13. Dude. This website is sick. How did you make it look like this .

  14. Hello, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually browse, but I liked your views none the less. Thanks for creating some thing worthy of browsing.

  15. really useful material, all round I picture this is worthy of a book mark, thanks a lot

  16. Can you email me with some hints & tips on how you made this blog site look this good, Id appreciate it.

  17. Please email me with a few pointers on how you made this website look this awesome , I would be appreciative.

  18. Many of the comments on this website dont make sense.

  19. If you dont mind, where do you host your website? I am searching for a good host and your website seams to be fast and up just about all the time

  20. Mate! This blog site is cool! How can I make it look like this !

  21. You need to really control the commentary on this website

  22. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Rss feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Yahoo reader account but got nothing.

  23. Heya, I just hopped over to your web site through StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually browse, but I enjoyed your thoughts none the less. Thanks for creating something worthy of reading through.

  24. If you dont mind, where do you host your site? I am searching for a very good web host and your site appears to be quick and up just about all the time

  25. I love that site layout . How was it made. Its rather sweet!

  26. Good Stuff, do you have a twitter profile?

  27. Just to let you know your web-site appears a little bit different in Safari on my notebook with Linux .

  28. This is often a amazing site, could you be interested in making time for an interview about just how you created it? If so e-mail me personally!

  29. Weird , your posting turns up with a black color to it, what color is the primary color on your webpage?

  30. Hi, I just hopped over to your webpage thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically read, but I liked your thoughts none the less. Thanks for making some thing worth reading through.

  31. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your webpage? I am searching for a good host and your web site seams to be fast and up just about all the time

  32. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your website? I am hunting for a good quality host and your blog appears to be quick and up almost all the time

  33. If you dont mind, where do you host your web page? I am looking for a very good web host and your web site appears to be extremely fast and up all the time

  34. It seems to me that this site doesnt load up on a Motorola Droid. Are other people having the same problem? I enjoy this blog and dont want to have to miss it when Im away from my computer.

  35. Odd , this page turns up with a dark color to it, what color is the primary color on your webpage?

  36. How come you dont have your web site viewable in mobile format? cant view anything in my iPad.

  37. Hey, I just hopped over to your website via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually read, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thank you for making some thing worthy of browsing.

  38. How do you make a site look this good! Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it!

  39. Even though I genuinely like this post, I believe there was an spelling error near to the finish of the third sentence.

  40. This website has a lot of extremely useful info on it! Thank you for helping me.

  41. Just to let you know your blog looks a little bit unusual on Safari on my notebook using Linux .

  42. Awesome post ! Thanks for, visiting this blog page dude. Ill message you again. I did not know that.

  43. How did you make your blog look this cool!? Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative.

  44. how can i get my ex back

    SHINee’s 2nd Mini-Album ‘Romeo’ Review | SHINee’s World

Leave a Reply

